Town Government

Visitor-Center-8South Fork Town Hall
100 Silver Thread Lane
P.O. Box 369
South Fork, CO 81154
(719) 873-0152 Fax (719) 873-5039

The Town of South Fork was incorporated on May 19, 1992. Our municipality is ruled by a Statutory form of Government. Statutory municipalities have only those powers granted to us by state legislation. The Town of South Fork is unique from many area towns in the fact that we are only funded through sales tax collections Rio Grande County still maintains and hold all property taxes collected in our area.

Mission Statement:

To be responsive to our citizens, balancing the needs of all sectors of the community; To provide effective local control of growth and development, through leadership and planning; To provide quality services in the most cost effective manner.

south fork rainbow

Helpful Info

Vehicle Registration — Rio Grande County Clerk/Recorders Office: (719) 657-3334

Drivers License — Required to change within 30 days of moving to Colorado (719) 589-4274

Voter Registration — Rio Grande County Clerk: (719) 657-3334

Electricity - San Luis Valley Rural Electric: 852-3538

Postal Service — South Fork Post Master: 873-5611

Sanitation — South Fork Water & Sanitation District: 873-5860
Sewer taps are not available in all subdivisions in South Fork so if you are not able to access the sewer district or will be outside the city limits you will need a private septic system. Contact the Town or County for requirements.

Water — South Fork has abundant water resources, both public and private. However, at this time the Town does not have a centralized water system. Although, many subdivisions do have individual wells and private water systems. If you are outside the city limits you may have to drill a private well.